行前信息和出行计划

考虑居住地点

大多数本科学生都住在大学宿舍内。凯斯西储大学宿舍管理部门(the Case Office of Housing, Residence Life & Greek Life)会将宿舍的相关信息发给您。如果同时您有任何疑问,请直接与该部门取得联系

凯斯西储大学没有分配给研究生的学生宿舍。已婚学生或者研究生可以去位于Yost Hall楼内的校外住房服务部门去了解有关信息及服务。您也可以在网上找到校外住房信息您需要计划在开学两周前到达学校,因为您必须提前安排好自己在校外的住所。已经成立家庭的学生,我们建议您的家庭成员在您找到合适的住处之后再来。因为在您寻找住所期间,为您的家庭成员安排临时的住所可能会很难并且很贵。

计划需要携带和需要在美国购买的物品

现金——即使您从凯斯西储大学得到资助,您仍然需要携带大约2000美元以支付一些应急花销。这些应急花销会用在购买生活用品、书籍、房租的押金、电话费和水电费等。我们建议您使用以美元为面额单位的“旅行支票” (traveler’s checks)来携带现金。当您在美国境内或境外旅行的时候,旅行支票可以给您的现金提供了安全保障。因为它们被加入了失窃保险,而且它们在美国比个人支票更容易被他人接受。银行会提供旅行支票,但您需要支付大约相当于1%票面金额的处理费用。

衣物——在克里夫兰,每年里气温的变化相当大。春季和秋季会有中等程度的降雨。夏季可能会非常湿热。冬季则会有周期性的大量的降雪。

三种最基本的衣服是必须的。冬季需要厚的夹克或外套、帽子、围巾和靴子。在初春和深秋,在户外应该用得上雨衣、中等厚度的毛织大衣和夹克衫,而在室内可以穿着毛衣。在春季、夏季和秋季中,气温稍低的夜里,轻薄的夹克还是需要的。总体来讲,校园着装标准是非常随意的。但是,在某些场合,您可能需要一、两件正式的着装。开学后的前几周,校园里可能会有几个聚会,而在这些聚会场合,您需要注意穿着合适的着装。

几乎所有的校园宿舍都提供简单的家具。它们包括:

  • 书桌
  • 椅子
  • 柜子

有一些物品则需要您在到达之后再购买。它们包括:

  • 床上用品
    • 床单——了解您新住所的床的尺寸,以便您购买到合适的床单。多数校园宿舍内的床是加长的单人床(大约长2.03米,宽1米)。
    • 毛毯——弄清它们与床匹配的尺寸。
    • 枕套
    • 毛巾
    • 洗涤用品
      • 洗衣粉/液以及肥皂
      • 烘干纸
      • 衣物柔顺剂
      • 容纳脏衣服的口袋
    • 衣架
    • 闹钟
    • 垃圾桶
    • 拖鞋
    • 电话卡或者手机
    • 塑料储存箱。可以被收纳在床下储物箱是得力的。您应该考虑购买那些不高于25厘米的塑料储存箱。
    • 洗漱用品
      • 牙刷
      • 牙膏
      • 肥皂
      • 洗发水
      • 除臭剂
      • 梳子
      • 刮胡刀

许多美国的商店销售这些商品以及其它宿舍需用的物品。这些商店的售货员是很有经验的。当您不知道该怎样选择的时候,售货员可以帮助您。您也可以在这些商店的网站上购买商品。在美国,如果您拥有信用卡的话,进行送货上门的网上购物是非常便捷的。这些商店包括:

预防疫苗以及健康测试

预防疫苗信息
所有进入凯斯西储大学学习的学生都被要求提供注射过麻疹,腮腺炎和风疹预防针的证明。我们建议所有的学生在过去的10年之内都曾注射过白喉-破伤风辅助药剂。没有注射过上述预防针的学生,或者不能提供证明文件的学生,都需要在开学以后前往大学的医务所(University Health Services)注射所有的预防针。您将需要支付这些预防针的注射费用,因为凯斯西储大学的学生健康保险并不覆盖这些费用。
肺结核皮试的信息
所有需要肺结核皮试的学生需要前往医务所(University Health Services)作这个测试。医务所的工作时间是每周一到周五的上午8:30到下午4:30——周四的开诊时间是上午9:30。即使肺结核皮试呈阳性,您在凯斯西储大学的学籍不会受到任何影响。

General Pre-Arrival Information and Planning

Thinking About Where to Live

Most undergraduate students live in the University residence halls. You will be receiving information from the CWRU Office of Housing, Residence Life & Greek Life, but if you have questions in the meantime, please feel free to contact them directly.

There are no rooms allocated for graduate students in the CWRU residence halls. Married students or graduate students may use the services of the Off-Campus Housing Bureau in Yost Hall. Off-campus housing information is also available onlineYou should plan to arrive two weeks prior to the beginning of the semester since you must make your own arrangements for off-campus housing upon arrival. For students with families, we advise that your family arrive after you have had time to locate suitable housing for them. Arranging temporary accommodations for your family while you are looking for housing can be very difficult and expensive.

Planning What to Bring or Buy in the US

Money – Even if you have substantial funding from CWRU, you should bring with you approximately $2,000 (USD) to cover immediate expenses for initial supplies and books, settling-in costs such as security deposits for rent, telephone, and utilities. We recommend you bring these funds in the form of “traveler’s checks” in U.S. dollars. Traveler’s checks provide a safe way to carry money while traveling in the United States and abroad. They are insured against loss and theft and are more readily accepted in the United States by businesses away from your area of residence than personal checks. Banks sell traveler’s checks, for which they charge a small fee of usually 1% for the value of checks purchased.

Clothing – Temperatures vary considerably from year to year. During spring and fall, moderate periods of rainfall occur. In Cleveland, OH the summer can be very hot and humid. A great deal of snow falls periodically during the winter months.

Three basic types of clothing are essential. In winter, heavy jackets or overcoats, hats, scarves, gloves, and boots are needed. During chilly autumn and spring days, raincoats or medium-weight wool coats or jackets are worn outdoors, sweaters indoors. A light-weight jacket is sometimes necessary for cool nights during spring, summer, and fall. The general dress code on campus is rather casual, except for special occasions for which you may want to have one or two nice outfits. During your first weeks on campus, there may be one or two gatherings where the appropriate dress code may be more formal.

Housing

Nearly all universities provide basic furniture in campus housing. This includes:

  • Desk
  • Desk chair
  • Dresser
  • Bed

There are some items you will probably buy when you arrive. These include:

  • Linens
    • Sheets. Find out what size the bed is in your new home. You will need to buy sheets to fit that bed. Most on-campus beds are extra-long-twin-sized (approximately 2.03 meters long).
    • Blankets. Again, make sure they are the right size.
    • Pillow cases
  • Towels
  • Laundry materials
    • Detergent/clothes soap
    • Dryer sheets
    • Fabric softener
    • Bag for soiled laundry
  • Clothing hangers
  • Alarm clock
  • Rubbish bin
  • Shower shoes (these are also called “flip flops”)
  • Calling card or cellular telephone
  • Plastic storage bins. These are most helpful if they can fit under your bed. Buy plastic bins that aren’t taller than 25 cm.
  • Toiletries
    • Toothbrush
    • Toothpaste
    • Soap
    • Shampoo
    • Deodorant
    • Comb or hairbrush
    • Shaver

Many shops in the U.S. specialize in selling these items and others you will need for university housing. The staff at these shops is very knowledgeable. They can answer questions if you’re not sure what you need. You can also order items online from most of these shops. In the U.S., it is very easy to purchase things online and have them delivered if you have a credit card. (Learn about credit cards in the finance section of this orientation). Some of these shops include:

Immunizations and Health Testing

Immunization Information
All students entering Case Western Reserve are required to have proof of immunity to measles, mumps and rubella. It is recommended that all students have a Diphtheria-Tetanus booster within the past 10 years. Students who have not had these immunizations, or can’t document that they have had them, can get them at University Health Services after classes begin. There will be a fee for these vaccines, which the CWRU Medical Plan (insurance) does not cover.

TB Skin Testing Information
All international students that need to have a Tuberculin Skin test should come to UHS to get this done. University Health Service is open Monday – Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. with the exception of Thursday when the office opens at 9:30 a.m. Having a positive tuberculin skin test will not affect your status at the university.