进入美国

在您离开您的祖国之前

当您从美国大使馆或领事馆收到您的留学签证时,签证官将会将您的留学文件密封进一个信封内,并将该信封附在你的护照上。您不可以自行开启这个信封。在您进入美国时,美国海关官员将开启这个信封。在旅途中,您应该随身携带某些特定的文件,而不要将这些文件放在托运的行李中。因为万一您的托运行李丢失或者被延误,您就无法向美国海关官员出示这些文件,从而就无法进入美国境内了。

请务必随身携带下列文件:

  • 带有签证的护照(包括内含留学文件的密封信封)
  • I-20留学 生信息表格
  • 留学资金的证明资料

而且,建议您随身携带下列资料:

  • 学生身份的证明资料(例如最近的学费收据和成绩单)
  • 凯斯西储大学留学生事务官员(也就是在您的I-20表格上签名的凯斯西储大学的官员)的名字和联络信息(办公室电话为216-368-2517)。在紧急情况下,万一您无法与凯斯西储大学办公室取得联络,您还可以拨打Lindsay女士的家庭电话(请点击此处查看详细联络信息)。
进入美国

您将需要填写一份I-94出入境记录表格和一份CF-6059海关报关表格。I-94表格上有一个11位的号码,它就是您的入境号码(admission number)或出境号码(departure number)。请您在达到入境地点的移民局检查站前就填好您的I-94表格。如果对表格填写有任何疑问,您可以咨询航班乘务员。在航班着陆之后,您会被引导前往美国移民局和海关检查站。

请确认美国海关官员在查看您的入境文件之后完成了下列事项:

  • 在您的I-20表格上盖章以标示您的身份有效期(Duration of Status,“D/S”)
  • 在您的I-94表格上盖章,并将盖章后的I-94表格装订在您的护照上

如果您的信息无法被海关官员自动检索出来,或者您无法出示全部的所需文件,那么您会被引导前往一个被称为“二次检查”(“Secondary Inspection”)的区域。在那里,有关官员将作进一步调查以确认您的信息。您会被照相和提取指纹,并或许需要回答更多的安全问题。

到校之后

为了遵从美国移民法规,在到校之后,您必须携带下列文件前往Sears行政楼(the Sears Building)的 210房间

  • 护照
  • I-94 表格(您在进入美国国境时填写并被装订在您护照上的白色卡片)
  • 凯斯西储大学签发的 I-20表格

Entering the United States

Before Exiting your Country

When you receive your nonimmigrant visa at a U.S. embassy or consulate, the consular officer will seal your immigration documents in an envelope and attach it to your passport. You should not open this envelope. The Customs and Border Protection Officer at the U.S. port of entry will open the envelope. When you travel, you should carry some specific documents on your person. Do not check them in your baggage. If your baggage is lost or delayed, you will not be able to show the documents to the Customs and Border Protection Officer and, as a result, may not be able to enter the United States.

Carry the following documents on your person:

  • Passport (including attached envelope of immigration documents) with visa
  • SEVIS Form I-20
  • Evidence of financial resources

It is also recommended that you carry the following:

Entry into the United States

You will need to fill out an I-94 Arrival-Departure Record Form and CF-6059 Customs Declaration Form. The I-94 card has an 11-digit number known as the admission number or departure number. Fill out this form prior to your arrival at the immigration section of the port of entry. If you do not understand either of these forms, ask the flight attendant for assistance. When you exit the international flight you will be directed to the U.S. Immigration & Customs Enforcement (ICE) station.
Please make sure that the Customs and Border Protection Officer does the following after reviewing your documents:

  • Stamps your SEVIS Form for duration of status (“D/S”)
  • Stamps the I-94 and staples it into your passport

If your information cannot be automatically verified by the inspector or you do not have all of the required documentation, you may be directed to an interview area known as “secondary inspection” where the inspector may conduct some additional research in order to verify information. A photo and fingerprints will be collected, and anyone may be asked to answer additional security questions.

Upon Arrival

In order to comply with immigration regulations, you are required to bring the following documents to the Sears Building, Room 210, upon arrival at CWRU:

  • Passport
  • I-94 (white card received upon entry and stapled into passport)
  • CWRU I-20 form